Storylines

I’m going to try to do three posts a week — Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. This should work well with my schedule for nets semester, where almost all my classes are on Tuesday and Thursday.

 

Today I want to talk about book ideas. I have had several, ranging from alternate history, to science fiction and fantasy. They come to me all the time. For instance, the other night, I ran across the name Aurther Currie. He was a Canadian general during World War One, and led a fascinating life. Naturally, now I want to learn more about him and have a series based on him and his life. I wote it down, and if I get inspired to do so, I will pursue it.

 

Only one ever got written from start to finish, and it was horrible. Fortunately the computer I wrote it on crashed, and it is no longer in existence. The only thing I can say for it is that I proved to myself that I can finish a story. But that was years ago. Since then, I have started and abandoned the World Wide War (Civil War alternate history), Caldor and Charlotte (sword and sorcery), Last Colony (Science Fiction), and Basil II (Alternate Byzantine Empire history).

 

But they are still in the back of my mind, and sometimes, when the mood strikes me, I will still fiddle with them. Right now, the storyline I’m working on is called The Bastard Prince. It is in a fantasy world without much magic among humans, but fantastical creatures do exist. Surprisingly enough, it follows the exploits of the bastard son of the late king, and his service to the king his half-brother, and the country. He is brilliant, loyal, hard working, and despite accusations, does not want to be the king. I see him as a cross between George Washington and Sherlock Holmes.

 

I’m planning this to be a series of related short stories, where the plot is different in each one, but most of the characters are the same, and the land is the same. Will this lead to being able to write a complete novel? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

